The Employees’ Compensation Commission (ECC) was created thirty-nine years (39) ago, through Presidential Decree No. 626, to implement the Employees’ Compensation Program (ECP).

The ECC is a government agency mandated by law to provide meaningful and appropriate compensation benefits to workers in the event of work-related contingencies. It is a government corporation attached to the Department of Labor and Employment (DOLE) for policy coordination and guidance.

The main functions of ECC are to formulate policies and guidelines for the effective implementation of the Employees’ Compensation Program (ECP), to review and decide on EC claims denied by the Government Service Insurance System (GSIS) and Social Security System (SSS) and to initiate policies and programs towards adequate occupational health and safety and accident prevention in the work environment.

To strengthen the ECC’s function of providing rehabilitation services, it maintains programs such as Katulong at Gabay sa mga Manggagawang may Kapansanan (KaGabay) and Quick Response Team (QRT) to reach out to the workers affected by work-related contingencies and to immediately provide counselling and assistance they need.

To answer to the workers clamour of bringing the EC Program closer to the regions, the ECC established a regional extension unit in Cagayan de Oro City – Region X in 2011.

In 2012, four additional REU’s were established in Cebu City – Region VII; Zamboanga City – Region IX; Koronadal City – Region XII; and Baguio – CAR.

In September 2013, ECC established six Regional Extension Units (REUs): Tuguegarao-Region II; Pampanga-Region III; Legazpi City-Region V; Tacloban City-Region VIII; Davao City-Region XI; and Butuan City-Region XIII.

Recently, the ECC branched out in La Union-Region I and Iloilo-Region VI.   It will be  expanding its services  in Mindoro – Region IV-B in the near future.

ECC-REUs are located in all DOLE, Regional Offices.