The Employees’ Compensation Commission Regional Extension Unit 8 has joined the Department of Labor and Employment in the strengthening of the One-Stop Shop Service Center for Overseas Filipino Workers in Eastern Visayas. With sixteen (16) Member Agencies, the OSSCO has been established to cater to the various concerns of Overseas Filipino Workers from processing of pre-deployment requirements to repatriation and other welfare benefits.

Under the Employees’ Compensation Program, Seafarers are entitled to loss of income benefits, medical benefits, carer’s allowance, death benefits and all other benefits in the event of work-connected sickness, injury or death.

Through the establishment of the One-Stop Shop Service Center for OFWs, a flagship program of the current administration, Overseas Filipino Workers, including seafarers, will have easier access to programs and services offered by the member agencies.

The OSSCO Member Agencies include the Bureau of Immigration, the Commission on Higher Education, the Home Development and Mutual Fund, the Martime Industry Authority, the National Bureau of Investigation, the Philippine Overseas Employment Administration, the National Reintegration Center for OFWs, the Overseas Workers Welfare Administration, the Philippine Health Insurance Corporation, the Professional Regulation Commission, the Philippine Statistics Authority, the Social Security System, the Technical Education and Skills Development Authority, the Philippine National Police, the Department of Foreign Affairs and the Employees’ Compensation Commission.

Currently, the One-Stop Shop Service Center for OFWs is located at the ground floor of the Department of Labor and Employment at Trece Martires Strees, Tacloban City. The said One-Stop- Shop Service Center is open from Monday to Friday starting at 8 AM to 5 PM.