Employees’ Compensation pensioners from Northern Luzon who greatly suffered from the onslaught of Super Typhoon “Lawin” may avail a 3-month advance EC pension as a form of financial aid pursuant to ECC Board Resolution No. 14-07-21 dated July 28, 2014.

ECC Executive Director Stella Zipagan-Banawis explained that the 3-month advance pension is a financial assistance to EC pensioners to help them rebuild their lives and repair the damages left by Super Typhoon “Lawin.”

“The first concern of a victim after a calamity strike is the health and safety of his family. The financial aid for EC pensioners is essential for them to pick up the pieces to provide shelter, food, clothing and medicine to their family,” Banawis added.

The calamity-stricken areas declared by the National Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council (NDRRMC) are: Province of Kalinga; Bontoc, Mountain Province; San Fernando, La Union; Province of Ilocos Norte; Laoag City, Ilocos Norte; Province of Ilocos Sur; and all other areas which may be declared under a state of calamity by the NDRRMC.

Under SSS Circular No. 2016-008 dated December 19, 2016, the availment period for the 3-month advance pension started last December 16, 2016 and will end on March 15, 2017. EC pensioners from the declared affected areas may file their application for the calamity aid with the SSS branch nearest their place of work or residence.